Dad and Me

My father is a painter and often the two of us compose photographs together for him to use as reference material for his paintings.  In 2 days, he will be 93 yrs. old and I count myself lucky to know him.

It wasn’t always that way.  Most of my life, I lived 1,000 miles away.  But three years ago with my 50th birthday looming, I made a major decision to move closer to home with my three children.  The logistics of a single mom moving across country were daunting, in fact family, friends, and acquaintances all doubted that I would succeed.

Today, I can honestly say that I doubt the struggles will ever end…  But, when I ask myself was it worth it, the answer is – Yes!

First and foremost, we are here and we are not going anywhere.  By that I mean, St. Augustine is our home.  And while I have been lucky enough to live close enough to my father to visit often, I can also say that we have become close.

He still paints almost every day.  And we are in a constant state of brainstorming the next project until the day comes that one of us can no longer hold up our end of the bargain.   No matter how much longer we can carry on, we will always have the photographs and paintings to look back on.

_rap0980-edit

This photograph is my favorite because it is a self portrait of the two of us.

work-in-progress

My Photograph (on the left), Dad’s Painting (on the right)

Robin Anderson’s website www.RobinAndersonPhotography.com

Andy Anderson’s website www.AugustusEAnderson.com

One thought on “Dad and Me

Leave a Reply

